How To Remove Your Apple Id Completely From Iphone Or Ipad

If you got an iPhone or iPad from another user or if you are giving away your device to someone else, it makes sense to completely delete your Apple ID associated with the iPhone/iPad. Erasing all content and resetting the iPhone is easiest way to get the job done however, there are other methods that let you remove all traces of your Apple ID. Let’s check it out!

How to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPad

The Easy Method: the easiest way is to remove everything from your iDevice. To do this, all you have to do is go to Settings → General → Reset → Erase All Content & Settings.

How to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPadHow to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPad

The other method for Deleting Apple ID from the iPhone or iPad

#1. Disable Find My iPhone

The first thing you have to do is to disable the Find My iPhone option from your device. This is the one that triggers the Activation Lock so you have to get this out of the way. If you have enabled Find My iPhone, here’s how you can remove it: Settings → Your Name → iCloud → Find My iPhone → turn off the switch for Find My iPhone.

How to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPadHow to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPad

#2. Remove Your Device from iCloud

Now, follow this tutorial to remove the device from your iCloud Find My iPhone account too. If you are selling/giving away the iPhone/iPad, it is going to be set up as new on another Apple ID. It makes sense to remove the device from your account.

#3. Sign Out Everywhere

Go to Settings → iTunes & App Store and tap on the Apple ID field. Then, tap on Sign Out.

How to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPad

Next up, go to Settings → Your Name → Sign Out. These are the two usual places where you have signed in with your Apple ID.

How to Remove your Apple ID Completely from iPhone or iPad

#4. Reset

Finally, don’t forget to reset. Erase all content and settings from Settings → General → Reset and then for good measure, Reset All Settings too.

You might also want to remove the device from iTunes backup in case you no longer need it (the backup file occupies a large chunk of the hard disk space). You can do this by heading over to “Edit → Preferences → Devices” in iTunes (Finder, if your Mac is running macOS Catalina or later).

Signing off…

This guide was for users who are selling or giving away their iDevice. But if you are buying a used iPhone or iPad from someone, you need to make sure they have followed these steps. Because if they don’t, they may lock the device after receiving payment from you. And you’ll be left with a dead iDevice and lose money as well. So make sure you double check everything before buying a used iPhone or iPad.

You may also like to explore:

  • “Your Apple ID was locked due to security reasons” is a new Trick to Hack Apple ID
  • iPhone Keeps Asking For Apple ID Password: How Do I Fix This?
  • How to Change Apple ID on iPhone, iPad, Mac or Windows Without Losing Any Data
  • How to Enable Two-Factor Authentication for Apple ID on Mac and iPhone

What precautions do you take before buying or selling a used iPhone or iPad? Share it in the comments and help fellow Apple users. Meanwhile, stay connected on <

  • 0